2019 Letter To My Friends About HD

HD is inherited. A faulty protein kills neurons, with symptoms similar to Parkinson’s, ALS, Alzheimer’s, and/or Tourette’s. It’s progressive; it won’t go away. It can develop earlier and faster in each generation.

It causes spontaneous muscle movements, contractions, and weakness. I stutter more and am slower to speak. It’s harder to swallow correctly, button, zip. My coordination and proprioception is impaired like a drunk’s.  It’s hard to tell where my body is in space.

You may not notice anything. Or you might.

I’m likely not drunk, bored, impatient, or needing to go to the bathroom (usually). My face may make expressions unrelated to what I’m feeling. And I’m capable of nuanced thought even when I’m not articulate.

I have good days/moments and more symptomatic ones.

I fall sometimes. I still exercise. I meditate. During both I have fewer symptoms. I don’t mind talking about it. I’m a realist, so this may sound a little dry, but it’s the facts, presented with love. ♥️