Diet (2021)

It’s time for a diet upgrade. I’m not traveling (thanks, covid), I have access to more fresh food. I’m ready to up my exercise game, since I’m experimenting with Meloxicam to see if I can build strength without injury to the entheses. And I’m watching a course on changing body composition.

Here’s the plan:

Vegan when I can (price and environmental impact), some chicken and fish, maybe some egg whites. High protein: 75g+ per day. Low cost (duh). I’m going to supplement pre- and post- exercise with creatine and BCAAs. I’ll be adding a protein shake for an additional 15g protein and 75 kc just before bed.

Here’s an example. It’s NOT vegan, gluten free, high protein, high omega 3 (with fish oil supplements), 6-meal timing optimized, under 1800 kc, and relatively inexpensive.

Six meals listed.  1. Coffee and a veggie burger.  2. Oatmeal with ground flax and cinnamon.  3. Black beans, rice, and brussels sprouts. 4. Chicken and avocado on salad greens. 5. Leftovers from 3: beans, rice, sprouts. 6. A protein shake at bed.

Here are the macros: 20% protein, 21% fat, 59% carbs.

I have a vegan version that is closer to 70% carb, about 10g less protein – substitutes beans and rice and olive oil for avocado/chicken salad.

I’ve been too reliant on fizzy drinks and artificial sweeteners. So I’m reducing to 1 unsweetened fizzy a day, and using only monkfruit/erythritol to sweeten coffee.

So I’ll see how this goes, especially with pricing. The BCAAs, creatine, and protein shake aren’t cheap. I’m exercising 6 days a week, strength training on 2-3, consistently for about the past 2 months. My goal is to see increases in strength and a better body composition with less injury.

A week in: I’m INSANELY hungry all the time, eating prob 800kc more every day. Have gained muscle, to be sure. But I wake up to eat sometimes.

Leave a comment