Exercise (2021)

I traveled for a lot of 2019 and 2020. I didn’t get much proper exercise, though I kept up with a version of the 2019 routine enough to maintain the ability to do each movement. It’s gotten a little longer and I’ve split it into alternating day routines that, given enough energy, I could complete in about 45 minutes. I’ve rarely been able to make it through without being exhausted. Some days I finish late, doing parts throughout the day. Other days I just get done what I can. Sometimes I spend the entire day trying to get the energy to exercise.

About 7 weeks ago, I started strength training again. An old-lady zoom program I get free with Medicare. I could hardly keep up with my mom. She takes it at her pace, but moves constantly for the entire 45 minute class and then often goes to another one.

WeekConditioning
Circuit
Cardio
Dance
HIIT*MeloxicamDiet*Notes
12x2x2x
22x2x2x
33x2x2x
44x2x2x
54x2x2x15mg/day
64x2x2x15mg/dayDuring the conditioning, I have started to double the bands.
75x2x3+x15mg/dayX2 weeks in, the Meloxicam seems to be working
8 (planned)5+2x3x15mg/dayX

*HIIT: During the cardio part of the circuit classes, I do 50 jumping jacks as fast and hard as I can. It’s about 30 seconds each of high intensity per set. The goal is 4 sets, plus an extra set of jumping rope.

*Diet: Creatine pre workout, BCAA post, high protein (1g/lb) diet, adding casein just before bed.

The schedule has organically increased in frequency. It wasn’t planned. I just got strong enough to do more. And mom is pretty insistent. Or regimented. Or something. I asked why and she had a one-word answer: ‘fear.’ Of? Being bedridden. Not able to move herself. Being in pain.

I’m not sure what I’m afraid of. But I hope I can run again. Even for just a few minutes a day. 🙂